Key Stages

The Oxford School is based on the English National Curriculum (adapted to local requirements). This curriculum allows students to move easily into all the educational systems and is used by international schools around the world. The curriculum is delivered through the medium of English – leading to the worldwide recognized qualifications of IGCSE and AS/A2 (A levels). We also provide statutory courses in Arabic and Islamic Education according to UAE requirements from Year 1 to Year 12 we provide Ministry Syllabus for Arabic & Islamic students for Arabs as well as Non-Arabs.

The School is an accredited Cambridge International Examination and Edexcel Center and prepares students for the Cambridge IGCSE’s and AS/A2 . Students up to Grade Eight follow a broad and balanced curriculum, which includes all major subjects, extra-curricular activities and sports. In Grade nine, students select subjects to study at IGCSE level. The Board Examinations are taken at the end of Year 11. Students who have achieved good grades in the IGCSE examinations may continue to study for the GCE ‘AS’ and ‘A2′ qualifications to gain British ‘A’ levels.

The Oxford School uses a wide selection of educational books and materials from the United Kingdom to meet the needs of children of varying abilities and from different cultures. Class size is usually about twenty-five students.
Key Stage
Key Stage
Key Stage
Key Stage
Sixth Form
Age 4 5-8 7-12 11-15 14-17 16-18
Year Group FS2 Year 1
Year 2
Year 3
Year 6
 Year 7
Year 9
 Year 10
Year 11
Year 12
Year 13

Cambridge International Primary Programme

The Oxford School is a registered member of the Cambridge International Primary Programme which gives school a framework to develop Mathematics, English and Science skills and knowledge in young children. The Primary Curriculum framework identifies a comprehensive set of learning objectives for the three key subjects for each year of primary education. It provides a natural progression through six stages of primary education from Stage 1 when children first enter primary education (at about age 5) to Stage 6 when they usually move on to secondary education (at about age 11). The program allows teachers to follow the progress of their students over time and analyze performance within their classes and against an external benchmark. The Cambridge International Primary Achievement Test (PAT) is taken by students at the end of their final year of primary education in all three core subjects: English, Mathematics and Science.CIE marks these tests and issues students with statements of Achievemen

Key Benefits


Preparation for secondary education: The CIPP is excellent preparation for the next phase in a student’s education and progresses students seamlessly into middle year curriculum and IGCSE. We provide excellent services to help the students in this phase cruise into the next phase with ease.


External Benchmark: The primary program provides teachers with an external benchmark to inform their teaching and easily measure student’s progress overtime. It also allows detailed, structured reporting to parents. We provide excellent services to help the students. 


International Curriculum: The primary program is appropriate and relevant internationally and has been designed to be culturally sensitive. It includes top quality teaching and assessment resources involving appropriate contexts for teaching and learning in international schools.

Key Stage 1

It consists of Year group 1 & 2 for students of 5 to 7 years of age. Students in Key Stage 1 are introduced to foundations in reading, writing, science, mathematics and information and communications technology (ICT) through a system of practical applications, supported by a positive and stimulating learning environment.

Children learn best when they actively participate in the learning process. Learning through structured play and a regular program of field trips forms an integral part of the Key Stage 1 curriculum.


  • Art
  • English
  • Arabic
  • Mathematics
  • Social Studies
  • Computer Science
  • Islamic Education
  • Physical Education

Key Stage 2 (Year 3 - Year 6)

Ongoing assessment ensures that each child’s progress and development are continuous and meet predetermined standards. The core academic curriculum includes instruction in English, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies and Information and Communications Technology. Children are introduced to foreign languages with a choice of French or Urdu. Arabic is taught to all children and caters for native and non-native speakers. The overall education experience is supplemented with instruction in Art, Physical Education, Arabic and Islamic Studies. Both formative and summative forms of assessments are conducted to assess the students.

Key Stage 3 (Year 7 - Year 9)

Students in the age group of 11 to 14 fall under this category. Assessments both Formative and Summative are conducted for these students. At the end of year eight, students are guided in choosing the subjects they would be taking in year nine.

Key Stage 4 (Year 10 & Year 11)

Students in the age group between the age of 14 to 16, come under this category. At the end of Year 11, students appear for the IGCSE Examination after thorough preparations. The subjects offered are same as above.

Subjects for Cambridge Board IGCSE Examinations

Compulsory Subjects

  • Mathematics (Compulsory)
  • English (Compulsory)
  • Information Technology (Compulsory)
  • UAE Arabic Ministry Syllabus (Compulsory)
  •  U.A.E Islamic Studies Ministry Syllabus (Compulsory for Muslim Students)

Optional Subjects

  • Environmental Management    /   French   /   Urdu
  •  Business Studies   /   Physics   /   Psychology
  •  Accounts   /   Chemistry   /    Art & Design
  • Economics   /   Biology   /   Travel & Tourism

AS and A Level (Year 12 and Year 13)

Other than the subjects offered for Cambridge Board IGSCE Exams, this is for the learners who fall in the year group 14 to 16. At the end of Year 11, students appear for the IGCSE Examination.

Subject options available in the AS level are

  • Mathematics (Edexcel/ Cambridge)
  • Arabic Studies
  • Islamic Studies
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Economics
  • Accounting
  • Business Studies
  • English Language
  • Applied ICT

Subject options available in the A-Levels are

  • Mathematics
  • Applied ICT
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Biology
  • Business Studies
  • Accounts
  • Economics
A wide range of teaching and learning resources are used at this level. According to the rules of the U.A.E Ministry of Education students in Grade Twelve / Thirteen must study and pass an examination in Arabic Language and all Muslim students must study and pass an examination in Islamic Education if they want to pursue their further studies in the U.A.E.(Separate courses for Arabic and Non-Arab students).
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.